Skip to main content

Osgoode celebrates 30 years of the LLM in Taxation Law

June 13, 2023

Elisa Romano

On May 25th, Osgoode Professional Development marked a memorable event celebrating 30 years of the LLM in Taxation Law. The event brought together a diverse group of attendees, including students, alumni, practitioners, academics, and thought leaders in taxation law, to celebrate the program’s anniversary and engage in thoughtful discussions on current tax issues.

The atmosphere was filled with excitement and nostalgia as guests reconnected with old friends, made new connections and shared stories of their careers since graduating.

Scott Wilkie and Jinyan Li, founding and current program directors, kicked off the celebration by recalling how the program began and grew into one of the most respected tax law programs in Canada.

The evening continued with three esteemed tax thought leaders: Heather Evans, Executive Director & CEO of the Canadian Tax Foundation, The Honourable K.A. Siobhan Monaghan, Justice of the Federal Court of Appeal, and The Honourable Marc Noël, Chief Justice of the Federal Court of Appeal, interviewed by Osgoode alumnus, Faculty and Tax Partner at Gowling WLG LLP, John Sorensen. The speakers shared their personal experiences in taxation law and discussed the importance of continuing education and what it takes to succeed in tax.

A lively debate followed, on whether Canada should impose an annual wealth tax on the top 1% of earners. The debaters included Linda McQuaig, a journalist, columnist, non-fiction author, and social critic, and John Tobin, Partner (Tax) at Torys LLP. The debate touched on the fairness of a wealth tax, its potential impact on economic growth, and the practicalities of implementing such a tax.

The celebratory evening paid tribute to the 30 years of the LLM in Taxation Law and its legacy of excellence. The passion and enthusiasm of the attendees were a clear testament to the profound impact that the program has had on the lives and careers of its graduates.

A Professional LLM Prize in Taxation Law was created to commemorate the 30th anniversary of Osgoode Professional Development’s Professional Masters of Law specializing in Taxation.  The prize was inaugurated on May 25, 2023, in honour of former long-time program directors Neil Brooks and Scott Wilkie.  This prize is intended to continue to inspire thought leadership in Tax Law embodied by speakers at the 30th anniversary: Heather Evans; The Honourable K.A. Siobhan Monaghan; and The Honourable Marc Noël, Chief Justice of the Federal Court of Appeal. This prize will be awarded annually to a student with the best graduate paper in a Taxation Law course, based on nominations from the course instructor(s) and as determined by the academic directors.

Want to learn more about the Professional LLM in Taxation Law? Sign up for an Information Session!